Model UN — Tackling Global issues

The Dubai Gem Private School held its first internal Model United Nations (MUN) conference from January 31 to February 2. Some 140 students participated in the MUN and it had four committees: the UN Second General Assembly (chaired by Rida Danish, Arzoo Fatima and Neil Dadlani), the UN World Health Organization (chaired by Insiya Saifuddin and Aditya Ashok), the UN Human Rights Council (chaired by Laisha Hiranandani, Riya Kewalani and Anmol Raigangar), and the UN Security Council (chaired by Prarthna Menghani, Shubha Kamath and Laksh Mamnani).

Delegates debated pressing matters — from women’s rights to ensuring healthcare in war-torn areas. Moreover, delegates of the UN Human Rights Council and UN Security Council were also able to experience how the the global body works in the case of real-time threats through the crises simulations organised by the Chairs of these committees. Students participated in every session of the MUN with unwavering enthusiasm and left the conference having learned valuable skills. The conference was organised by the Secretaries-General, Aditya Ashok and Neil Dadlani, the Executive/Admin Team headed by Vidhi Manghnani (DGPS’ Head Girl) and Kiran Parwani, as well as a group of dedicated teachers. There were student members of the Admin Team assisting each committee, as well as a Press Team that recorded each moment of this incredible milestone.

The Model United Nations is a platform for students to develop and exhibit their public speaking skills, confidence and their ability to discuss world affairs by observing and participating in the exciting debates that develop during the committee sessions. These sessions involved substantial researching, critical thinking, teamwork and leadership abilities.

The following are the awardees

Second General Assembly

Best Position Paper (Youth): Norah Alex, Netherlands

Best Delegate (Youth): Gaurav Motiani, Ghana

Best Position Paper: Pashan Sidhwa, Brazil

Best Orator: Laksh Agarwal, Russia

Runner-Up Best Delegate: Sidhant Khanwani, Japan

Best Delegate: Shaydon D’Souza, USA

Security Council

Best Position Paper: Aarav Kanar, India

Runner-Up Best Delegate: Partha Shetty, USA

Best Delegate: Danesh Sutaria, Kuwait

World Health Organisation

Best Position Paper (Youth): Hishita Rajwani, Ethiopia

Best Delegate (Youth): Rhea Raigangar, Japan

Best Position Paper: Shyam Soundararajan, Iraq

Runner-Up Best Delegate: Mustafa Safri, China

Best Delegate: John Hakim, Iran

Human Rights Council

Best Position Paper (Youth): Brianna D’silva, Libya

Best Delegate (Youth): Khushi Desai, Czech Republic

Best Position Paper: Israa Rehan Ali, Philippines

Runner-Up Best Delegate: Nafisa Mustansir, USA

Best Delegate: Viditi Bhatia, Russia

Report by: Shubha Kamath, Shiza Zia

Student Reporters, Year 11 “